On April 28, 2021, Google changed the required permissions for attaching IAM roles to service accounts. If you are using IAM roles for your Google service accounts, please see Changes to User Management.
This section provides information on the process by which your data is wiped from a project after you have disabled Dataprep by Trifacta®.
When you make a request to disable Dataprep by Trifacta in your project, Google initially handles the request:
- Google disables access for the Dataprep by Trifacta to the project immediately.
- Google forwards a request to purge all Trifacta data to Dataprep by Trifacta.
Requests from Google to wipe out Trifacta data are handled in the following manner:
- Project data created within Dataprep by Trifacta may be optionally copied to the default Google Cloud Storage bucket for the project for safekeeping.
- Project data created within Dataprep by Trifacta is hidden from access for all project users.
- All project users including the project owner are informed of these steps via email.
- At any time over the next 30 days, the project owner can request that the project be re-enabled. See below.
- After 30 days of inaction, all project data is permanently purged from the platform, and all project users are informed of this change. Data cannot be recovered after this point.
- This deletion is immediate and is automatically performed by Trifacta; Google never touches this metadata.
- This metadata includes:
- recipes for transforming data, settings, and rules
- jobs run on project data before Dataprep was disabled (including filenames/descriptions of data)
In the 30 days before data is wiped out, a project owner can re-enable Dataprep by Trifacta for the project.
NOTE: When Dataprep by Trifacta is re-enabled for a project, the Trifacta data is restored to its state at the time of original deletion.
- If underlying assets and locations have changed in your Google Cloud Platform environment, you may need to fix some breakages in your datasets, flows, and recipe steps.
- Dataprep by Trifacta may re-enable users who should no longer have access to the project. You should review your list of users.
NOTE: You must be a project owner to re-enable the product in it.
- In the Google Cloud Platform console, navigate to the project where Dataprep by Trifacta is disabled. In the popup, click restore Dataprep.
- You are redirected to a page in Google Cloud Platform where you can re-enable the product. Click Enable.
- When prompted, you must enable access again.
- Your project data for Dataprep by Trifacta is restored. All users who were active in the project at the time of deletion have their same access privileges again. Click Ok to begin using the product again.
After you have restored the project, you should check the following:
- Verify project settings. See Dataprep Project Settings Page.
- Verify that the correct users have access to the project.
- Users of the project should verify that they can access their flows and run jobs.
This page has no comments.