Through the Share Connection window, owners of the selected connection can modify who has access to the connection.
Tip: A workspace administrator has owner-level access to all connections in the workspace. However, a workspace admin cannot access or use a connection's credentials if those credentials were not shared by the owner of the connection. For more information, see Workspace Admin Permissions.
- Start typing names or email addresses of users to see matches.
You may be able to browse a list of all user names.
NOTE: This feature may need to be enabled in your environment. For more information, see Workspace Settings Page.
Set access level:
As needed, you can configure the level of access to the connection for users with whom the connection is shared.
NOTE: You cannot set a user's access to a level that is higher than the limit set for the user at the workspace level. For example, if the user has Viewer access to connections at the workspace level, you cannot make the user an Editor on your connection.
NOTE: Workspace administrators have Owner-level access to all connections in the workspace. You do not need to share connections with them.
User can modify the connection.
NOTE: Editors cannot delete connections. Only the Owner or a workspace admin can delete a connection.
- User has all Viewer permissions.
- User can use the connection to read data.
- User can share connection.
For more information, see Overview of Sharing.
- - Connection can be made available to other users only by invitation through this window.
Public - Connection is available to all workspace users who can access connections.
NOTE: Only a workspace admin can make a connection public.
NOTE: After a connection is made public, it cannot be made private again. It must be deleted and recreated.
Share credentials: When selected, the credentials that are specified in the owner's connection definition are shared with other users. You can share connections that you created or that have been shared with you.
NOTE: Password values are always masked in the interface.
Do not share credentials: When this option is selected, users of the shared connection must provide their own credentials.
NOTE: To use datasets previously imported through the shared connection, credentials must have permissions to access the source data. If shared credentials are removed from a connection, then any datasets imported through the connection are not accessible, which also applies to re-publishing previously generated results.
To save your sharing changes, click Save.
This page has no comments.