Page tree

Release 9.2


Contents:

   

Contents:


Administrators can manage the users who are permitted to use Designer Cloud powered by Trifacta® Enterprise Edition

All of these functions are available through the Admin console. For more information, see Admin Console.

Invite User

To permit a user to access the Designer Cloud application , an administrator must complete the following steps.

NOTE: When a user accepts your invitation, the additional user counts toward the maximum number of permitted users.

NOTE: If you are re-inviting a user who has been removed, you must wait 14 days to invite the user back to the same project or workspace and retain the user's data. If restoring the user's flows and recipes is not important, please contact Alteryx Support for immediate re-instatement.

Steps:

  1. Login to the  Designer Cloud application  as an administrator.
  2. From the left navigation bar, select User menu > Admin console > Users.
  3. In the Users page, click Invite users.
  4. In the Invite users dialog, enter a comma-separated list of email addresses to which to send invites. 
    1. These addresses become the user identifier for logging into the  Designer Cloud application
    2. Avoid sending invites to email aliases.
    3. Example:

      joe.smith@example.com, mary.jones@example.com
  5. To invite the list of users, click Invite users.
  6. An email is sent to each valid user email address that you listed. The receiving user must click the link in the email to accept the invitation.

 The user is invited via email and created in the Designer Cloud application . You can modify the user account as needed before the user chooses to log in. See below.

For more information, see Users Page.

Edit User

Edit roles

Steps:

  1. In the Users page, locate the user to review.
  2. On the right side of the row for the user, click the Actions menu. 
  3. Select Edit user.
  4. In the dialog, you can add and remove roles for the user account. 
  5. When finished, click Edit User.

Change workspace admin

By default, a new user account is assigned a non-admin role. If needed, you can assign the user to be a workspace admin. 

Use the following steps to change a user's workspace role between non-admin and admin.

Steps:

  1. In the Users page, locate the user whom you are promoting to admin. 
  2. On the right side of the row for the user, click the Actions menu. 
  3. Select Change admin role.
  4. In the Change admin role dialog, select the workspace role:
    1. Member - standard user account, which is not permitted access to the Admin console and its functions. 
    2. Admin - administrator account, which can access all available features of the workspace.

      You should avoid assigning the admin role to a large number of users.

  5. Click Save.

  6. The user's workspace role is immediately updated.

Assign roles

When the account is created, it is automatically assigned the Default role. You should review the permissions associated with this role and to determine if the user needs to be assigned a different one. For more information, see Roles Page.

Disable User

NOTE: Disabled users still count toward workspace limits on number of users.

If needed, a user's account can be disabled from accessing Designer Cloud powered by Trifacta Enterprise Edition. When a user account is disabled:

  • The user can no longer log in to the  Designer Cloud application  or use any available API endpoints.
  • The user's assets in Designer Cloud application  are retained. They can be accessed by other users who have been granted permission.

To disable a user, please complete the following steps:

Steps:

  1. In the Users page, locate the user to disable. 
  2. On the right side of the row for the user, click the Actions menu. 
    1. To disable Disable. Click Disable to confirm.
    2. To reactivate a disable member, click Enable.
  3. Effective immediately, the user cannot log in to the application.

Remove User

To remove a user completely, please complete the following steps.

When a user is removed from Designer Cloud powered by Trifacta Enterprise Edition, any assets that are owned by the user must be reassigned to other users, or they are lost and no longer accessible even by an administrator.

Steps:

  1. In the Users page, locate the user to remove. 
  2. On the right side of the row for the user, click the Actions menu. 
  3. Select Remove.
  4. If the user owns assets, you can choose to assign them to another user. If you do not assign them, these assets are lost.
  5. Confirm that you wish to remove the user.

If you must recover a removed user or that user's assets, please contact Alteryx Support within 14 days of the deletion.

This page has no comments.