In a collaborative environment, it can be helpful to be able to have multiple users work on the same assets or to create copies of good quality work to serve as templates for others. enables users to collaborate on the same flow objects or to create copies for others to use for independent work.
This section provides an overview of sharing principles, limitations, and approaches.
Sharing can be enabled and disabled through Workspace settings by a workspace administrator. To enable, set the following to
For more information, see Workspace Settings Page.
NOTE: You cannot share with users outside of your current workspace, including any account that you may have in a different workspace.
The following are the basic types of users of a shared object:
Typically, the owner is the original creator of the shared object. This user has maximum permissions on the object.
|Workspace admin||All workspace admins have owner rights on all objects in the workspace.|
Any user who has been shared an object is a collaborator. A collaborator can have the one of the following permissions on the object:
Individual users can be assigned one or more workspace roles. A role is a set of permissions.
For each type of shareable object, a workspace administrator can define within a role the permissions that workspace users have on the object type. Below, you can review the workspace level permissions and the implications on sharing:
|Workspace Permission||Description||If object shared, default permissions on the object|
|Author||Assigned user can create and delete new objects of this type in the workspace.||Editor|
|Editor||Assigned user can modify objects of this type with limitations. See below.||Editor|
|Viewer||Assigned user has read-only access to this type of object.||Viewer|
For more information, see Workspace Roles Page.
When an object is shared, the user who is sharing the object can specify the privilege level for the target user on the shared object, which provides finer-grained access controls on individual objects:
The following types of objects can be shared with other workspace users:
In the collaborative approach, two or more users can work on the same flow. When a flow is shared, all flow objects are shared, including:
NOTE: A dataset that is created with parameters cannot be modified by a collaborator. It can only be modified by the owner.
NOTE: Sharing of data is managed at the flow level. You cannot share individual recipes or datasets from within a flow.
NOTE: You cannot share a flow with yourself.
All collaborators have access to the above objects, as long as they have access to the underlying sources. See below.
Underlying datasets: Sharing a flow does not change the permissions to the underlying data. If a user with whom a flow has been shared does not have access to the data on the datastore, the user cannot work with the flow's datasets.
Sharing samples: A flow's samples are not necessarily available to all users who have been shared the flow. In some cases, if a user who has been shared a flow does not have access to a recipe's sample, the user may have to collect a separate sample to view data or edit the recipe associated with the sample. To enable universal access to shared samples, you can use either of the following permissions schemes:
Collaborator (Editor and Viewer) limitations:
Collaborators do not have the following privileges on a flow shared with them:
Modify imported datasets
NOTE: Collaborators cannot modify datasets created with custom SQL.
For more information on the privileges for Viewer and Editor roles, see Privileges and Roles Reference.
Owners and Editors have the same privileges to edit recipes in the shared flow. In the Edit History, edits appear under the usernames of the individual contributors.
NOTE : Multiple editors cannot make changes to the same recipe at the same time.
NOTE: When a column is hidden from a dataset, it is hidden for all users.
Tip: You can review the history of changes to a recipe through the Edit History for a recipe. See Recipe Panel.
You can remove sharing access to a flow. When a flow is no longer shared with a user, that user:
NOTE: If a dataset from a shared flow is referenced in another flow, when sharing access is removed from the flow, the referenced dataset is still available in the other flow.
NOTE: If a flow is unshared with you, you cannot see or access the datasources for any jobs that you have already run on the flow, including any PDF profiles that you generated. You can still access the job results. This is a known issue.
When initially created, a connection is private. It is accessible only to the user who created. it.
Through the Connections page, you can share your connections with other users:
When connections are shared with you, you can access them through the Shared with Me tab in the Connections page. See Connections Page.
When shared, private connections can be shared with or without credentials. If credentials are not shared, new users of the shared connection must supply their own credentials. Those credentials must be permitted access if access to any datasets previously imported through the connection is required.
NOTE: A workspace admin has owner-level access to all connections. However, a workspace admin cannot access or use a connection's credentials if those credentials were not shared by the owner of the connection. For more information, see Workspace Admin Permissions.
NOTE: Password values for credentials are always masked in the user interface.
For more information, see Connections Page.
Sharing connections through flows:
When a flow is shared, any connections associated with it are automatically shared to the specified users. If the connection is configured to do so, credentials are included, so that the new users can immediately begin using the flow.
For more information, see Flow View Page.For more information on the privileges for Viewer and Editor roles, see Privileges and Roles Reference.
Plans that you create can be shared with other users. In the Plans page, select Share from a plan's context menu.
Depending on whether you created the plan, you may have the following set of privileges:
|Owner||The owner created the plan and can schedule the plan and has all editor privileges.|
A collaborator has been shared the plan as a Viewer or Editor. Privileges to the plan that are limited in the following ways:
When a plan is shared with you, you are a collaborator on the plan. A collaborator has the following capabilities based on the plan privileges assigned to your workspace role:
For more information, see Share a Plan.