In a collaborative environment, it can be helpful to be able to have multiple users work on the same assets or to create copies of good quality work to serve as templates for others.   enables users to collaborate on the same flow objects or to create copies for others to use for independent work.

This section provides an overview of sharing principles, limitations, and approaches.

Sharing Model

NOTE: You cannot share with users outside of your current workspace, including any account that you may have in a different workspace.

Owners and collaborators

The following are the basic types of users of a shared object:

User TypeDescription
Owner

Typically, the owner is the original creator of the shared object. This user has maximum permissions on the object.

NOTE: There can be only one owner on an object. Only the owner or a workspace admin can delete a shared object.

Workspace adminAll workspace admins have owner rights on all objects in the workspace.
Collaborator

Any user who has been shared an object is a collaborator. A collaborator can have the one of the following permissions on the object:

  • Editor
  • Viewer

See below.


Shareable Objects

The following types of objects can be shared with other workspace users:

Sharing Flows

In the collaborative approach, two or more users can work on the same flow. When a flow is shared, all flow objects are shared, including:


NOTE: Sharing of data is managed at the flow level. You cannot share individual recipes or datasets from within a flow.

NOTE: You cannot share a flow with yourself.

All collaborators have access to the above objects, as long as they have permissions to the underlying sources. See below.

Use cases:

Permissions

Underlying datasets: Sharing a flow does not change the permissions to the underlying data. If a user with whom a flow has been shared does not have access to the data on the datastore, the user cannot work with the flow's datasets.


Sharing samples: Samples are not shared when a flow is shared. Users that have been shared a flow must create their own samples.When flows are shared with you, you can access them through the Shared with Me tab in the Flows page. See Flows Page.

Editor permissions:

Viewer permissions:

Collaborator (Editor and Viewer) limitations:

Collaborators do not have the following permissions on a flow shared with them:

Editing recipes

Owners and Editors have the same permissions to edit recipes in the shared flow. In the Edit History, edits appear under the usernames of the individual contributors.

NOTE : Multiple editors cannot make changes to the same recipe at the same time.


NOTE: When a column is hidden from a dataset, it is hidden for all users.


Tip: You can review the history of changes to a recipe through the Edit History for a recipe. See Recipe Panel.

Removing access

You can remove sharing access to a flow. When a flow is no longer shared with a user, that user:

NOTE: If a dataset from a shared flow is referenced in another flow, when sharing access is removed from the flow, the referenced dataset is still available in the other flow.


NOTE: If a flow is unshared with you, you cannot see or access the datasources for any jobs that you have already run on the flow, including any PDF profiles that you generated. You can still access the job results. This is a known issue.


Share Connections

When initially created, a connection is private. It is accessible only to the user who created. it.

Through the Connections page, you can share your connections with other users:

When connections are shared with you, you can access them through the Shared with Me tab in the Connections page. See Connections Page.


Sharing credentials:

When shared, private connections can be shared with or without credentials. If credentials are not shared, new users of the shared connection must supply their own credentials. Those credentials must be permitted access if access to any datasets previously imported through the connection is required.


NOTE: Password values for credentials are always masked in the user interface.

NOTE: For SSO connections, credentials are never shared.

For more information, see Connections Page.

Sharing connections through flows:

When a flow is shared, any connections associated with it are automatically shared to the specified users. If the connection is configured to do so, credentials are included, so that the new users can immediately begin using the flow.

For more information, see Flow View Page.


Share Plans

Plans that you create can be shared with other users. In the Plans page, select Share from a plan's context menu.

Depending on whether you created the plan, you may have the following set of privileges:

You arePrivileges
OwnerThe owner created the plan and can schedule the plan and has all editor privileges.
Collaborator

A collaborator has been shared the plan as a Viewer or Editor. Privileges to the plan that are limited in the following ways:

  • Collaborators cannot delete plans that have been shared with them.
  • Collaborator access to the plan may be further filtered based on assignments at the workspace level. See below.

When a plan is shared with you, you are a collaborator on the plan. A collaborator has the following capabilities based on the plan privileges assigned to your workspace role:

Plan PrivilegeDescription
Author
  • Create plans.
  • Delete plans that you create.
  • All Editor privileges.
Editor
  • Edit parameters in entitled plans 
  • Manage email notifications on entitled plans 
  • Update entitled plans names and descriptions
  • Share entitled plans
  • All Viewer privileges.
Viewer
  • View and run entitled plans 
  • View runs and jobs from entitled plans
  • Export entitled plans

For more information, see Share a Plan.